EU adds three countries to the list of tax havens According to Reuters

© Reuters. FILE PHOTO: European Union flags flutter outside the EU Commission headquarters in Brussels, Belgium June 17, 2022. REUTERS / Yves Herman / File Photo

BRUSSELS (Reuters) – European Union finance ministers on Tuesday added Anguilla, the Bahamas and the Turks and Caicos Islands to the EU’s list of tax havens, expanding the list to 12 countries.

The Turks and Caicos Islands, near the Bahamas and Cuba, are listed for the first time. The Bahamas was once listed in 2018 and then took off, and Anguilla once in 2020.

“Equal taxation of businesses benefits all of us. This is why the EU and international partners share a common interest in combating tax base erosion and displacement. profits,” Czech Finance Minister Zbynek Stanjura, whose country holds the rotating presidency of the EU, told a news release. conference.

“I am confident that all 12 countries on the list will deliver on their commitments and implement the necessary reforms in the tax area as soon as possible, so that they can be removed from this list when we will revise it in the next six months,” he said.

The EU includes this list in its foreign policy decisions when considering development cooperation and other economic relationships with third countries.


News5h: Update the world's latest breaking news online of the day, breaking news, politics, society today, international mainstream news .Updated news 24/7: Entertainment, the World everyday world. Hot news, images, video clips that are updated quickly and reliably

Related Articles

Back to top button