Former India captain Dilip Tirkey elected Hockey India president | Hockey News

NEW DELHI: Former Indian hockey captain and member of the 1998 Asian Games gold medal winning team, Dilip Tirkeywas voted on Friday as Hockey India The President (HI), after two others, who had submitted nominations for the position, withdrew before the election.
One of the most capped former players – Tikey played a record 412 international matches in a career spanning more than 15 years as a defender -, the 44-year-old great from Odisha has represented India. Degrees at Atlanta 1996, Sydney 2000 and Athens 2004 Olympic Games.
The Hockey India election process was scheduled to be completed by October 9, according to the deadline set by International Hockey Federation (FIH) and the Committee of Administrators (CoA) in August.
Prior to Tirkey’s election as president, Hockey India was under the jurisdiction of the CoA by order of the Delhi High Court for alleged violations of the National Sports Code.
Tirkey thanked CoA and members after he became the president of the national sports federation, tweeting “Thank you @DrSYQuraishi (COA member) & @FIH_Hockey for a smooth election @TheHockeyIndia. I will ensure that Indian hockey reaches new heights.”

The FIH also congratulated Tirkey on his election as head of the Indian Hockey division, which in a letter from Lausanne on Friday said: “From the outset, FIH would like to thank the members of the Governing Committee for their compliance and ensuring that the process is Hockey India’s election went smoothly The FIH monitored the election process through the Hockey India website and media reports in India.
“We are pleased to see that the Board of Directors of Hockey India was elected as posted on the Hockey India website from today and the election of positions has been agreed for All positions We are delighted that the election process has been completed and a democratic body is now in place. We extend our congratulations to Dr. Dilip Tirkey, Mr. Bhola Nath Singh ( Secretary General) and Mr. Sekar J Manoharan (treasurer) and look forward to working closely with them.
“We appreciate the effective efforts of the CoA over the past few months to restore democratically elected authority in Hockey India,” the FIH said.
“Effective from today, September 23, 2022, we note that the CoA has concluded its mandate and that the FIH will now communicate directly with the newly elected Executive Board on matters related to the Section. Hockey in India We once again thank you for your efforts and hope you will all be our guests for the future. Professional Hockey League matches scheduled to begin October 28, 2022, and the FIH Men’s Hockey World Cup 2023, scheduled to begin January 13, 2023.”
High-ranking people in the office: President – Dilip Tirkey (Odisha Hockey Association); Vice President (female) – Asima Ali (Hockey Jammu & Kashmir); Vice President (male) – SVS Subramanya (Hockey Karnataka); General Secretary – Bhola Nath Singh (Hockey Jharkhand); Treasurer – Sekar J Manoharan (Tamil Nadu Hockey Unit); General Secretary (female) – Ms Arti Singh (Hockey Rajasthan); General Secretary (male) – Sunil Malik (Hockey Haryana).
Member of Executive Board: Arun Kumar Saraswat (Hockey Rajasthan); Asrita Lakra (Hockey Jharkhand); Gurpreet Kaur (Delhi Hockey); V Sunil Kumar (Kerala Hockey); Tapan Kumar Das (Assam Hockey).

Source link


News5h: Update the world's latest breaking news online of the day, breaking news, politics, society today, international mainstream news .Updated news 24/7: Entertainment, the World everyday world. Hot news, images, video clips that are updated quickly and reliably

Related Articles

Back to top button