Tech

How to safely lend your phone to others


From grandson Someone who wants to play a game for a few minutes, with a friend who wants to see your vacation photos, with a stranger who needs to make a call, there will be people who want to borrow your phone.

That’s a pretty big privacy and security risk if you think about everything your phone gives you access to: social media profiles, bank detailsinstant messaging chats, photos and videos that you don’t want the world to see, etc.

However, there are ways to hand your phone over to someone else without having to worry about what they might get on it. You just need to make sure you take some precautions before the exchange takes place.

Iphone

Guided access is built into iOS.

Apple via David Nield

(Apple via David Nield)

The feature you need to know on iPhone is called Guided Access, and you can enable it by opening iOS Settings and selecting Accessibility and Guided Access. Variable Guided Access the on/off switch and it’s ready to go — just make sure you use it Password Settings to set a password to protect Guided Access mode.

To actually enable Guided Access, you need to triple-tap the home button if your iPhone has it, or the side button if it doesn’t. Then you can press Option to configure how Guided Access works: For example, you can restrict access to volume buttons and the software keyboard. You can even disable the touchscreen functionality and set limits for Guided Access mode. Exploit Begin launch Guided Access.

Then whoever is using the iPhone is locked into the current app, so you need to open the app in question—the Phone app, a specific game, or whatever—before you tap triple-click the button on your device to launch Guided Access. You exit Guided Access with another triple tap of the same button, at which point you’ll need the passcode you set in the first place.

The idea is that without a passcode, your iPhone users can’t get out of the apps you put them in — there’s no way to switch apps, open Control Center, or even turn off the phone. However, you need to be aware of the app they’re using and what they can do inside it: If you’re showing someone your photos, they’ll be able to access all of them.



Source link

news5h

News5h: Update the world's latest breaking news online of the day, breaking news, politics, society today, international mainstream news .Updated news 24/7: Entertainment, Sports...at the World everyday world. Hot news, images, video clips that are updated quickly and reliably

Related Articles

Back to top button