Nepal polls: PM Deuba wins from Dadeldhura; Nepali Congress ahead in election tally

KATHMANDU: Nepal’s Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba was elected on Wednesday by huge margin for the House of Commons for the seventh time in a row, with his ruling Parliament of Nepal The party leads in the electoral vote count by winning 13 seats so far.
Elections to the House of Representatives (HoR) and seven provincial assemblies were held on Sunday. Voting begins on Monday.
Deuba won 25,534 votes against his closest rival, Sagar Dhakal, an independent candidate in the Dadeldhura constituency in far western Nepal. Dhakal received only 1,302 votes. Deuba has never lost a parliamentary election in his five decades of political career.
Nepal’s National Assembly Speaker Deuba, 77, is currently serving as Prime Minister for a fifth term.
Dhakal is a young engineer who verbally quarreled with Deuba during a public debate at the BBC’s Sajha Sawal program five years ago, after which he decided to challenge Deuba saying that now youth there should be a chance in politics and seniors like Deuba should retire.
The ruling Nepalese parliament has so far won 13 seats in the House of Representatives (HoR) while leading in 54 other constituencies.
Its allied parties – CPN-Maoist and CPN-Unified Socialist, Lokatantraik Samajwadi Party – are leading with 17, 7 and 3 seats respectively.
The CPN-UML led by former prime minister KP Oli has so far won three seats and is leading in 45 constituencies. Its allied parties – the Rastriya Prajatantra Partyj and the Janata Samajwadi Party – are leading with five seats each.
The newly formed Rastriya Swotantra Party won three seats in the Kathmandu district.
The Rastriya Prajatantra Party and the Nagarik Unmukti Party won one seat each.
The CPN-UML received the highest number of votes under the proportional electoral system with the party receiving 2,07,299 votes, followed by the National Assembly of Nepal with 1,83,352 votes. The Rastriya Swotantra Party came in third place with 95,598 votes while the CPN-Maoist received 86,433 votes. Similarly, the United Socialist Party CPN received 10,919 votes.
Of the 275 Members of Parliament, 165 will be elected through direct voting, while the remaining 110 will be elected through a proportional election system. Similarly, out of a total of 550 members of the 7 provincial councils, 330 will be directly elected and 220 will be elected by proportional method.


News5h: Update the world's latest breaking news online of the day, breaking news, politics, society today, international mainstream news .Updated news 24/7: Entertainment, the World everyday world. Hot news, images, video clips that are updated quickly and reliably

Related Articles

Back to top button